Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Stop Loss Techniques and Risk Managment
Star 

Are there good techniques for setting small stop loss ratio to reward in order not to get stopped out easily?

Imagine i start with 1000 dollar account and i risk 1 % for a trade which is 10 dollar and i want to make 200 dollar ratio reward.

Most of time i would get stopped out easily by the market with such tight stop loss or if my lot size is bigger but still its not excessing the 1 % risk ratio.
How to handle such issue? what are good entry techniques to such low risk strategy that you recommend to play?

You have asked very good question. I will answer your question in detail. When I started trading, I started with no stop loss. I made 100% return in one month. In my greed I opened a big trade. When the price turned against me I couldn't make the decision to close the trade as I hoped price will make a recovery. I waited but price didn't make a recovery. Loss kept on getting bigger. I didn't close the trade. I could have closed the trade but kept on watching and happily let the account blow out.

After pondering over my mistake, I decided to use a stop loss. I idea was to limit my loss to a certain level. Stop Loss will help me do that. I started trading with a 50 pip stop loss. I made a few good trades. Then I made a loss and that loss unnerved me. I kept on trading with a big position size. I should have reduced the position size. I looked at the charts, realized that 50 pips is a big stop loss I can easily trade with a 20 pip stop loss. I made a number of good trades.